My newest discovery

Regarding photography…obviously one needs a good camera, the bulky three dimensional unwieldly kind, not so much the flat kind that comes in pink and fits discreetly in your purse.  Mine is a Nikon D3000 , the most basic of all DSLR’s, the baby of the bunch.  By the way, I highly recommend Amazon for this camera, they are underselling the Nikon website, so they can’t even display the price until you add the camera to your cart.

Then, most photos need a little, um, plastic surgery, by an amazing doctor called Photoshop!  Just as I am telling myself most emphatically that I am NOT the kind of person who has 4 hours a day to spend tweeking photos…my words came back to bite me.

Here are some before and afters.

Before:  nice photo, but doesn’t quite have that pop to it.

After: much better, dontcha think?

Or remember this picture from the El Jadida beach?  I was pretty excited about it, before:

After: high drama!

So, next time you see photos that look too good, chances are they’ve had a little work done.

7 thoughts on “My newest discovery

  1. LOVE your passion for photography🙂 I share it, and will share some of my photos w/ you sometime. Appreciate the tips. I haven’t played w/ photoshop yet. Might have to give it a go.

  2. Digital photography was a real discover for me. i always took pictures (film), but never had the time to go to a darkroom and “do the work”. With digital, i spend so much time doing what you’ve discovered, and now have control over my pictures. i would caution, however, about getting carried away with “saturation” in color pictures. Its a disease that one finds all too often, and can make some pictures seem a bit too unreal.

  3. Yes, I think it’s fun ‘treaking’ photos for the best effects.
    I have an apple computer with iphoto so can crop/brighten color etc right on screen.
    I think photo shop sounds quite difficult…..
    All my Moroccan photos were taken with a very cheap little old Nikon Coolpix point and shoot. I now have a 10 pixel Coolpix.
    Probably I need to have photo lessons but have so much fun anyway.
    Weather in England and NY HORRIBLY cold.
    I got back to NY yesterday via ash cloud…..

  4. Sara Morgan says:

    I actually like the “before” sunset better. And having played with photo shop a little, in general, especially for landscape stuff, prefer things as they actually are. Mother nature being a rather supreme artist. But, yes to the left close up. way good.
    Sara

  5. Sara, well, I do agree that you can’t do much better than mother nature. However, most pictures straight out of the camera don’t exactly look like the real deal anyway. Each camera has its own distortions, and on how good the quality is. (glad you like the original sunset, somethings are better as they are).

    Jeff, I agree, you can easily get carried away, and I think it poses an interesting question, which is: is photography about depicting things exactly as they are, or is it about creating something new? (my very neutral answer is, sometimes one, and sometimes the other). As long as we don’t try to hide the fact that we are photoshopping, then I’m cool with it.

    Laura, yes, where are your photos? Can’t wait to see’em.

    Elizabeth, you’re lucky you escaped the wrath of the ash cloud. We have a lot of international students heading for our school, all stuck in various European airports. Casablanca airport also closed. Marrakesh is still open though. Sorry about the weather…here it’s just lovely (not surprisingly), and the kids are already swimming

  6. arkia says:

    Gosh finding your blog is really making me miss my fathers motherland. I haven’t been since 2008 and I miss it and my family so much! iA in the near future I can return and meet my new nephew and visit with my Omi, brothers, sisters, nieces and nephews!

Leave a Reply

