Dear Son

Baby boy, you are 5 today.

When you were in my womb, I prayed for you in the dark of night.  I prayed that you would be a light in this world.

When you were born, I thanked God for an easy labor and a beautiful son.

When you were a baby, you loved music and animals.  You still do.

When you were a toddler, I called you my sunshine boy.  You were a little sun in our house.

When you were 3, you got a guitar.  You played it all the time.  You still do (I’m re-stringing it this morning, I promise).  You love to put on shows.

You are the best dancer in the family.  Your Michael Jackson routines are awesome.

You are a great cook.  You made muffins for us all by yourself (I only added baking powder).  You spend hours peeling vegetables for me.  You love to do stuff in the kitchen.

You have an easy and forgiving nature.  A good thing to have when you have a baby brother.

You always say that school was “awesome”.  You say that school is your favorite place.

Yesterday when you washed your own hair in the bath and you said “I tried putting my head back and it worked!”.  Son, I told you so.

You come to love people quickly.

You love kung fu and China.

Your heart is golden.  Always know that.

On this day, and on every day, I thank God for the gifts he has blessed you with.  All of what we have is merely by His grace.  May God protect you dear son.

Happy Birthday.

Love,

mama.

16 thoughts on “Dear Son

  1. kat jabeen says:

    salaaam,

    i want to say happy birthday to your son, subhanallah they grow very fast, may Allah swt bless him with good tidings and reward his parents for his good deeds.

  2. Catherine says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMIN! Jacob says “Are you riding a bike without little wheels?” And we both wish you the happiest, sunniest day. XX

  3. Elizabeth,
    Thank you. Yes, my daughter who is 8 isn’t into cooking, but my son is, so go figure.

    Catherine, when you told me Jacob was riding his bike without training wheels at age 3, I wanted to write and say that’s phenomenal! No, Amin is not riding without training wheels. That being said, we haven’t taken the bikes out in a while, so I wouldn’t know, even if he were ready. Big kisses to Jacob.

  4. Anicca says:

    I can’t help but cry, blurring my mascara that I applied for my first day of teaching at my new job and remember his 3rd birthday and the guitar..alhumdullilah khuti.

    • Anicca, you can imagine how I feel. And now Susu is going to turn 3, and he still seems like a baby. He does not seem old enough for a guitar, but I know I have to treat him a little older than I think he is.
      Mascara, work? Are we adults yet? Love you girl.

  5. ahmed zouheir says:

    May Allah Sub7anah protect and bless amin as well as all your family.
    I have a daughter who will turn 6 in the end of July.I know how it feels when the children are at this age.

  6. Nazza Nazza says:

    ..and I love how Amin has ALWAYS been a gentleman! He’d drag along my suitcase to help me with my load. If I had a graze or scrape he’d come and kiss my hand. But my BEST memory to date is Amin laying over the laps of three girls in the back of mama’s car, while he munched on grapes. The look of satisfaction on his face was priceless!! Hehe
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMIN!

    • Nazza, I remember all your “invented” owies trying to get kisses by Amin. I totally don’t remember the grape scene though, thanks for sharing it. What could I expect from the three girls who absolutely spoil my kids. I love you all.

  7. Sara Morgan says:

    Of course I wept when I read this. And it’s all true.
    Thank you for being the mother everyone should have.

Leave a comment